LAVA ENGINE’s new album IN LIMBO released on January 28th 2011

Lava Engine is a progressive rock/metal band featuring well experienced members from among others: MODEST ATTRACTION, FLAGSHIP, XT, THE QUILL, NARNIA (drums), ASSAILANT, BEYOND KNOWN, LEVITICUS & SYSTEM BREAKDOWN.

In Limbo has been mastered by CJ Grimmark (NARNIA, FULLFORCE, ROB ROCK).

If you are a fan of progressive, emo and classic rock like PORCUPINE TREE, OPETH, PAIN OF SALVATION, RIVERSIDE, PARADISE LOST, DREAM THEATER, MARILLION & MUSE, this is the album you have been waiting for!

Lava Engine found its current line-up after a couple of years experimenting with both musical styles and a variety of members. The 4-track EP “Lava Engine” was released back in 2008, including Magnus Florin and Ronnie Jaldemark (System Breakdown, Beyond Known) as members of the band. This was the first step towards a more dark and atmospheric sound and therefore the finding of the genuine and characteristic way of todays Engine. The album was mixed and mastered by CJ Grimmark (Narnia, Full Force) and released worldwide both digital and physical form.

After this, Mick Nordström (Modest Attraction, Flagship, XT, toured with Narnia, Leviticus, The Quill etc) observed the band on a live occasion and thought that he should join up. As things turned out, the previous drummer at the same time felt the need to leave the band which opened up a slot for Nordström to become a member of Lava Engine. A while after Simon Dahlström (Beyond Known) joined as well, fitting the progressive but yet melodic way of thinking. This is the mark on the time line where magic would begin to happen.

By the end of 2009 new songs were completed, recordings of the second album started and in June 2010 the follow up “In Limbo” was ready for release. This time mixed by the bands new drummer Mick Nordström but once again mastered by CJ Grimmark. This one was recieved very well by fans and media:

5 out of 5 – Sea of Tranquility

We all have melancholy times sooner or later and now Lava Engine has given us a soundtrack just for those moments!

5 out of 5 –

This album simply has no faults!

5 out of 6 –

We can all expect great things from Lava Engine!

Dutch Progressive Rock Pages

They are clearly very good musicians, the production is top notch and Magnus Florin has a truly excellent rock voice!

The album is recorded, mixed and produced by Lava Engine on various locations between Dec 2009 – May 2010.

Mixed by Mick Nordström

Mastered by CJ Grimmark at Statliga Ljudinspelningsverket.

Cover art: Sandra Johansen (

Band photo: Tomas Carlström (

Design: Magnus Florin

Lyrics by Magnus Florin

Music by: Track 1,3 (Florin, Jaldemark), Track 2,4 (Florin, Jaldemark, Nordström), Track 5 (Jaldemark)





Magnus Florin – Vocals & Guitars.

Ronnie Jaldemark (System Breakdown) – Guitars, Keyboards & Vocals

Simon Dahström – Bass

Mick Nordström (Modest Attraction, Flagship) – Drums & Vocals



1. Drain Your Sou

2. In Limbo

3. Common Ground

4. Ctrl Z

5. Windows Closed


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s